Chocolate Chip Banana Bread!

Even though I eat half a banana almost every day for breakfast, I never seem to be able to eat the whole bunch before the get overly ripe…making them perfect for banana bread!

I am usually a “by-the-recipe” kind of girl, but I’ve decided to trust my instincts and see what I can come up with.  In the process I broke a pepper shaker.  Huge mess. 😦

…this was after I vacuumed up most of the pepper and glass.

First I mixed a 1/2 cup of butter and a cup of sugar (splenda actually).  Note to others and self: sticks of butter in silver colored wrapping will most likely spark in the microwave (aluminum perhaps–its been a long day!).  The butter also won’t soften…lesson learned.

Then I mashed up too very ripe bananas in a bowl and added about a teaspoon of lemon juice.  I also sprinkled a little bit of cinnamon and nutmeg in the bowl. 

I blended two eggs in to the sugar/butter mixture.  Then I added a splash of vanilla and a scoop of Peanut Butter & Co. White Chocolate PB.

In another bowl, I mixed a cup of flour, a cup of whole wheat flour, about 3 teaspoons of baking powder, and a little bit of salt.

I added the flour mixture to the rest of the ingredients and then stirred in a half bag of chocolate chips.  Yummm…I may or may not have licked the spoon and the bowl 😀

The mixture seemed pretty thick, but I went ahead and put it in a loaf pan.  It is currently in the oven at 375…I’ll let you all know how it turns out!

Do you all stick strictly to recipes?  What kinds of ingredients do you swap in or out?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

